Visually impaired riders?

Hello,
Anyone out there riding with low vision, or know anyone who does? I’ve been riding for 18 years or so, and have been legally blind since birth. I’ve trained young horses, shown, trail ridden, dome some dressage, and am interested in starting to event. I have an amazing “project horse” who has come a tremendous way, and takes excellent care of me. Just wondering if anyone out there has any suggestions for the cross country phase of eventing. I’m fine once I get close enough to the jumps to see them, I’m just worried about finding the jumps over long distances … :slight_smile: Ideas?

Wonderful that you can do so much with your handicap.
Can you drive vehicles?
There are some things we can’t do and it is not any kind of failing that we can’t just do everything.
I wonder if cross country jumping is not one of those things, depending on how impaired you may be?

I expect you may get a dispensation from the organization to have some kind of two way radio system and someone giving you instructions on course, but is it really safe for you and the horse to do that?

I can’t see too good without glasses and always took them off to ride, until I started showing and HAD to see around a course, so I know a little bit what is involved.
If I still could not have seen too well, I would have not tried to jump and put myself and the horse in that situation, I don’t think, so I think that you probably can see enough to be safe.

I know ropers that can’t see any more and still rope, a bell on the steer’s neck to help them and they even catch their share.:wink: