Unlimited access >

Walking away from heart horse

Hi all.

I have been working with this horse for three years now, (bit of an odd situation, the owner had given me permission to train her but I was not leasing) and we come to the end of our time together this weekend. Over these years, I have completely given this horse my heart. We just fit together, our personalities match, we trust each other, she’s my heart horse. As such, I really don’t want to lose her, but when I went to the owner to discuss buying her, she is out of my budget. Because I did too good of a job training her. Lol. I’m going to try one more thing to see if she’ll lower her price (please remember that the owner has no emotional connection to this horse!) but, as I’m sure you all know, when they’re out of your budget they’re out of your budget and you must walk away.

So I’d really appreciate any advice on how I can walk away from this little one and still be in one piece. Like I said, this little one holds my heart and I truly don’t know how to walk away from her (if I don’t buy her she will likely live out her days being a lesson horse, and she detests simply going around the arena) without the crushing guilt of leaving her behind or the overwhelming heartbreak I’m confident I will face in the coming week.

If anyone has any advice I’d really appreciate it.