Wanting to ride after recovering from Pancreatitis...any 1 experience this?

Doc gave me about 3 more weeks to get back in the saddle if the pain is gone.

A little nervous since it requires sooo much core strength!

Anyone wanna share their story? Anything I should expect or be warry of?? I’m expecting usual soreness, but anything especially dangerous? :confused:

Also, how long did it take for any of you to be feeling 100%??? (While riding)

Mind you, I am re-training TBs off the track!

I have zero advice or experience, but have recently learned that a medication I take can cause pancreatitis. What were your symptoms/treatment?
Sorry you had to go through that…I hope your recovery has been easy!

Me, me, I’ve had experience with this! A friend’s 2 year old spun around and kicked me, lacerating my pancreas, so I had traumatic pancreatitis and was in the hospital a week, out of work for 6 weeks, and as for riding? Hah. I do remember my doctor telling me 3 weeks, but 3 months after the accident, I hopped on for a few minutes, and it was another month after that before I tried again. Every little move, bounce or bump hurt big time. If it hurts, you shouldn’t do it. It’s a bitch of a disease and can reoccur — if you’ve had it once, for any reason, you are more likely to have it happen again.

BTW, I’d suggest never drinking alcohol — the pancreas actually filters alcohol before the liver does. It’s like playing with fire — do you really want to take the chance of getting that sick again?

[QUOTE=AliCat518;5646364]
I have zero advice or experience, but have recently learned that a medication I take can cause pancreatitis. What were your symptoms/treatment?
Sorry you had to go through that…I hope your recovery has been easy![/QUOTE]

Yikes, please share with us what medication/or general class of medications can do that? I have heard and read that this is one of the most painful conditions ever, so anyone who has or had it has my condolences.