Unlimited access >

WB Mare breeding to GRP Stallion?

Hi All! I have a very high quality Warmblood Mare I am looking to breed this Spring. I’m looking for a Stallion to bring her size down some (she’s 16.3- my ideal height would be around 15.3, but I’m flexible) and also her temperament (she’s a Jazz and can be very reactive), but also a stallion who also produces high quality gaits. I am a professional and FEI Dressage rider, I’m hoping this horse would be for me, but ultimately I want something safe and fun. I’ve had trouble finding WB Stallions who are small and still high enough quality. I’ve mostly been set on the GRP stallion FS Don’t Worry. I’ve had some GRP’s in training and always found them fun. I know some people say the proportions can end up weird when breeding a WB to GRP. I would love to hear about any WB/GRP crosses people have- pictures/video would also be much appreciated! and any other suggestions on smaller high quality stallions. Thank you so much in advance!

I have bred a few GRP/warmblood crosses.

My warmblood mare is 15.2. Both her sire and damsire were normal 16-16.3 hand warmbloods, so her genetics are taller. She is also a bit of a firecracker, so I selected stallions for her that had stellar, kid-friendly temperaments.

In my (limited) experience, the babies either took after the mare or after the sire in both height and temperament. I found the babies that took after her were taller and firecrackers. The babies that took after the GRP sire were often quite small (under 14 hands) and had quiet temperaments.

My biggest fear in doing the cross is that I got a small pony that was hot. Who would ride it and/or who could I sell it to? Luckily I didn’t end up with that combination and my mare is now retired.

There is a German Riding Pony group on Facebook that is fairly active - lots of pictures and video from breeders who are also doing that cross.