Weak Leg due to Nerve Compression

Hi there - Does anyone here have an issue with a significantly weaker side and have suggestions to improve that work?

I have nerve compression from a herniation (not horse related) and cannot feel my left leg. It swings significantly. Right leg, is great no issues. My horse is forgiving but is young and impressionable so I do have trainer rides to help. I rarely canter at the moment as that motion creates significant swing.

I have been doing physio and strengthening exercises for 2+ years to no effect. Have had spinal injections for pain management. Swinging will be worse after injections as there is almost no feeling from thigh downwards.

Has anyone just had their saddle modified to help correct a deficiency? I was avoiding this as it seemed like “cheating” but after years of no improvement I was thinking this might be the only way to help stabilize the leg.

Thank you.

Can you tighten the muscle on the top of the front of your thigh, the rectus femoris?

That is how I got my lower legs to stop swinging. I have MS, no proprioceptive sense, I cannot always feel my legs, bad balance, difficulties with coordination, and my legs are WEAK.

Sometimes I feel like my foot is too far forward, but it seems that my riding teacher thinks that is better than my leg swinging &/or staying too far back.

I am 71 and have severe stenosis L4/5 and both of my legs/feet are numb/tingly, pretty much all the time when I’m standing/walking/riding. I
I ride my young mare in a dressage saddle with fairly large thigh blocks (Custom Solo) and they really do help steady my legs stay in place.
I ride the pony in a smaller saddle with smaller blocks (Prestige Lucky Dressage) and I think I am not as solid in that one, especially sitting trot.