Unlimited access >

Week old kitten

So we have two feral cats that live in one of the sheds, we were able to trap one and have her fixed but not the other one. We assumed the other one was a male… hah!

About a week ago we were surprised by three kittens. Yesterday she decided to move the kittens, unbeknownst to me as I let the dogs out when she was in the middle of the yard carrying one of the kittens. The dogs took chase, she dropped the kitten and ran away. I put the little thing back to where they were in the shed, the mom cat came to ate but left the kitten. The low was in the 50s so I made the decision to bring her inside in some blankets and heating pad, I also bought kitten formula and a bottle. I guess what I’m wondering is, I have zero experience with cats. Am I doing the right thing? Should I try and put the kitten back in hopes the mom takes it? Obviously as she gets older I will get her fixed, vaccinated, flea treatment and all that but will be predominantly an outside cat. Am I missing anything?

9 Likes

You have to help it potty.

Look up Kitten Lady on Facebook and You Tube. Tons of informational videos.

You could try to reunite but keeping a close watch

8 Likes

IIWM I would try to get the kitten back with the mom. Kittens that young can be tough to foster because they need to be fed every 2-4 hours and you need to weigh them every day to make sure they’re gaining. And you have to stimulate their butt to make them defecate. The mom can do all of this and also teach the kitten how to be a proper cat.

If the mom won’t take the kitten, is there a rescue near you that might be able to provide a foster mom? Or at least someone experienced with young kittens that can guide you through this? Also contact your vet as soon as you can and ask their advice. If you have to do this alone just do the best you can. The poor kitten doesn’t stand a chance otherwise.

5 Likes