Unlimited access >

Western Pad Help

i am new to western ,just got my first saddle that fits well but the pad i bought is not ideal,5 star has been recommended but while those are great quality,i am not yet sure if western will stick with us ,hence i don’ want to spend that much.
have a high wither TB so contour is needed.the one i have is contoured and fits his back shpae well but it seems to always slide down onto his wither no matter how much i pull it up.fitter recommended a 7\8 thickness and a wool felt blend.what is out there in budget friendly and still good quality? it is for short pleasure trail rides by the way.

diamond wool brand felt is perfectly fine.

5 Likes

I love this one for my Thoroughbred, especially if you don’t need one quite so long (my guy has withers and a short back)
https://www.ridingwarehouse.com/Toklat_CoolBack_Western_Saddle_Pad_Contoured_28x28/descpage-TC28SSP.html?color=BL

1 Like

While I’m a fan of Toklat pads, I love my Diamond wool pads. Can’t live without them. Mine is contoured and has a small cut-out over the withers. After just a couple of rides it conformed nicely to my gelding’s back.

1 Like

I like Toklat and Diamond Wool; I’ve been known to cut a big slash in the front of my wool pads to get wither relief. Looks awful, works a trick as long as there is pad under the saddle during the ride. If your pad, any pad, really walks you might reconsider the saddle fit.

1 Like

the pad does stay in place ,it is just that i would like to keep a bit of space between top of wither and pad ( maybe that is not necessary ? i am an english rider ,this is all new to me) and after a ride,the pad sits on the wither

What brand are you using right now?

You would like want something with wither cutout or wither relief.
I know you are shying away from the 5 Star with the price, but they do have both those options (they have a FlexFit option)
Keep in mind, you can always SELL the pad if you eventually stop doing Western.