Unlimited access >

What do you do to keep your senior dog in the best shape?

I just ordered some Dasuquin with MSM for my 12 year old Std poodle.

She looks good, still runs around and plays, but I noticed that she is sometimes a bit hesitant to jump into my car, on the bed.
I assume it won’t hurt to give her a little support. This is what I did with my Ottb, who stayed sound until her passing at 24 yo.

What, if anything, do you give your older dogs to keep them going?

I think proper weight management is key! The bigger the dog the more important it is. My niece is a vet and I worked as a groomer and vet asst. in the past. So many owners become defensive if weight is brought up in the most polite terms, but it’s such an easy issue to manage compared to genetics or injuries. Even though arthritis and mobility may become inevitable in senior dogs, over-feeding and under-exercising make even mid-aged (4 yrs +) dogs look/act much older than they are!

7 Likes

The jumping thing - just like a horse, there is pain and/or weakness, possibly with the back legs. Start keeping an eye out for ways to help your dog make those mobility transitions with dignity. :slight_smile:

Mine all his life leaped into the back seat of the car with great exuberance from about 4 feet out. Now at age 13 he insists there is no other way, even though his back legs no longer do their part. I tried to transition to a quieter, one step at a time method – oh hell no, he will launch as always, forever and ever amen.

So the way it works is I make sure I’m not holding anything, so I can quickly scoop his butt up and in as he sort of flies through the air as he has always done. Otherwise just the front end launches but the back barely comes off the ground. This move took some awkward trial and error to establish, but we’ve got it down now. Dog maintains he jumped in by himself as always. :grin: