Unlimited access >

What have we learned or seen in Triple Crown 2022 to date - Thoughts of a TB owner and horse lover

1. This is a very talented bunch of horses. Early voting and “Richie” or Rich strike" are VERY talented colts despite their bloodlines! They still had to run their races, listen to their jockeys, stay mentally sane, show so heart and determination, and of course, outrun everyone else on the race track. The paces/speeds of the Kentucky Derby and Preakness might have supported their running styles, but they both had to complete the job and win their races. I don’t think it was a fluke; just the best horse won based on the variables presented ( I’m a chemist). The race developed to favor them BUT they still had to do the job. the rest of the field didn’t jut collapse. Congrats to both and a big shoulder hug/pat !!!

2. Epicenter is GORGEOUS!!! But has the rest of the 2022 class of three-year-old colts caught up with him? He struggled to get that last furlong in the Derby and couldn’t catch Early Voting in the Preakness. Nothing wrong with that. It just shows how even the horses have become. Now we will see a “real horse race.” I Look forward to the Breeders Cup in the fall.

3. More trainers publicly claim to make race decisions based on what is “good for the horse.” Many good, understated trainers have continuously operated like this, as true horsemen ( e.g., Barclay Tagg) did. Nice to see. However, often, "big-name owners have not embraced that philosophy… One question, is this new “trend” or just “flavor of the month?” Here is a question, Once Baffertt returns, will trainers put horses in races; they don’t believe in feeding one’s ego, putting the race participants, horse, and rider at risk, and