Unlimited access >

What saddle should I buy?

I am looking to buy my first saddle. I’m on a budget, but I will be looking at all of the suggestions. I don’t know whether to buy a CC, an AP or a jumping saddle. I’m new to all the saddle brands so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have been looking at a Wintec 500 close contact, wintec 500 jump, Eric Thomas (new wave and advance models) and also at a really cheap Norton Rexine Close Contact. If any of you have had any experience with those saddles please do tell me about them! And if you have any suggestions for other saddle brands please let me know. Thank you!

P.S If you guys have any tips for buying a saddle please share them with me. Thanks!

I have the Wintec 500 close contact. I bought it for my 4yo tb because I wanted a cheap saddle that was adjustable while she was still growing, now she has filled out and has finished growing (just turned 6yo) I am looking for a nicer saddle to replace that one.

It is good because it is easy to clean and due to not having suede in photos it looks leather. It took me quite a while to get used to it as the seat is quite flat and pretty slippery due to the material at first I would barely even canter. Now I am used to it I am fine even on cross country.

I would say just find a good saddle fitter, tell them your budget and they can tell you what would work best for you and your horse. I also think it is better to buy a better brand second hand than a cheap brand new saddle.

Yes, I also would suggest working with a saddle fitter to buy a second-hand better quality saddle. I know lots of people love their synthetic saddles, and sometimes they are the best choice for a particular horse’s back, but they are not high-quality.

For the choice of style of saddle, CC, jump, or AP: ask your trainer/coach. This will depend on what kind of riding you are doing. In general, no one who is really strongly based in a discipline seems to like most AP saddles, IME.