Unlimited access >

What to look for in an eventing prospect?

I am going to be looking for an eventing prospect soon and I was wondering if anyone has some tips on specific things to look for. I am fairly new to the eventing world so I am curious as to what I should look for. I do have a coach that will be helping me look but I was just looking for some more advice. So what do you guys look for in an event horse? Thanks.

I would ask your coach. Anything with four hooves can be an event prospect, provided it is of sound mind and body.

There are lots of things I look for, some of which cannot be seen in a photo. Everyone has a different idea of what the ideal is, your coach will know best what is YOUR perfect match.

For me, something like this looks like a fantastic LL eventing prospect (with some time off for his boo-boo)
http://fingerlakesfinesttbs.com/stripes/

Thank you, I definitely will talk to my coach. Also thanks for the link he seems like a really nice horse.

It really depends on your current level of riding, aspirations, what kind of horse works well with you (e.g. lazy or forward).

So if you are a veteran of the H/J scene and want to switch to eventing at the lower levels only, and your coach is good at bringing along event prospects, you could look at younger, greener prospects.

On the other hand if you’ve never jumped a stick, then you should be looking for something that’s “been there, done that” to help you learn the ropes of eventing and have fun.

One piece of advice I will give is that you don’t have to click right away, and the horse doesn’t have to be your ideal tall, dark handsome steed. What you might want to listen to though, is your gut - the one that says “this doesn’t seem like such a good idea”. Or the one that you are trying to shut up when you argue with it, “but she’s so pretty! I’m sure we’ll bond! I don’t mind blowing my budget on her!”