Unlimited access >

What's wrong with my horse? Calling armchair vets

13yo Holsteiner gelding, show hunter. Bred domestically, lived on breeders farm until I acquired him two years ago. Horse has had two owners his entire life - all background and history is accessible as breeder is my trainer.

Horse was started as a 5yo. He was always a little hot and anxious, but manageable. He bucked trainer off one too many times and was just turned out after. He was turned out for about a year before he was brought back into the barn for various working students to try to get going and to be sold.

I started riding him as a 10yo. I clicked. And then acquired him.

Since heā€™s settled into his home with me. But he has not progressed in his jumping over the two years heā€™s been with me. One lesson heā€™s wonderful - the jumps can go up, he does the changes, no stops. Next lesson, a pole on the ground is a huge issue. He will slam on the brakes and be extremely hot.

I typically do not jump at home, only lessons at the trainers farm, or at horse shows. When I do jump at home, he rarely stops, and is an absolute blast to ride at home 85% of the time. (He can get a little fired up at times). Iā€™m not convinced he wants to be a bad horse. This guy will follow me through fire if I ask him. I think there is something wrong. Itā€™s just figuring out what.

Trying to push through these issues Iā€™ve done the following:

• Custom saddle to address any discomfort in his back
  • routine body work by a very reputable chiropractor
  • Tested for PSSM1 - n/n. Itā€™s possible heā€™s a PSSM2 horse, so heā€™s maintained diet and fitness wise as if he had PSSM2. (History here - heā€™s hard to get fit and keep fit. He has some weird fat patches on the sides of his rump and he tends to be very tense and sore)
  • extensive lameness exams
  • Hocks injected recently
  • SI injected recently
  • Stifles injected recently
  • His hocks have been x-rayed, he has beautiful hock images.