Unlimited access >

What's your story? How did you become an event rider?

Hello!
I’m a youth rider, currently studying dressage, and I would LOVE to become an eventer but I’m having trouble finding resources (no eventing barns or stables nearby, not many competitions either) and as a soon-to-be college student I can’t afford to take jumping lessons right now. So I was just wondering how all of you came into the sport. What disciplines have you done over the years? When did you start eventing? How did you find trainers? What experiences and opportunities helped shape your skills and interests?

Thanks!!

I was 12, had been riding reining and cutting horses since I was 3 ( though there was a 3 year break in there). I’d never heard of eventing but I told my Western trainer I wanted to jump (had seen show jumping on tv and thought it looked fun), and she was friends with a pair of French eventing trainers. I did both sports until I was 14 or so, then went to eventing exclusively. I’ve also done a little endurance, and more than a little pure dressage. I’d love to try riding a Reiner again.

You can blame Brian Sabo and his crew for my addiction to the Dark Side. I leased a horse that was stabled at Woodland Hills Pony Club, and was enveloped into a great group of eventing evangelists in Southern California. Before long I was at Moorpark every weekend doing something and catching rides to Wild Horse, and all the regular haunts…my first “event” was of course Meadows of Moorpark and I think we are talking late 70’s early 80’s. I have a ribbon from 1981 somewhere.

I bought a green bean off the track, and I moved to a new barn shortly after buying him (moved from a hunter barn to an eventer barn.) My horse chose is job, and I got bit by the bug. I’ve grown up doing hunters and only switched late last year. Our official first event is this Saturday at Fair Hill.