Unlimited access >

Where to begin?

Experienced horse person, recently acquired a Shetland or Mini who was in bad shape but represented to be broke to drive. I do not have harness or a cart and would like to acquire these, and really start reading about driving as a first step. My goal would be able to drive my pony in my indoor riding ring, my outside sand ring, and around some gently rolling fields. I had a Shetland pony that we drove when I was very, very young, and we had a Hackney pony that we drove when I was a little older, but I consider myself a complete beginner when it comes to driving. I do have a truck and trailer, and am pretty close to Amish auctions. I know some knowledgeable horse people in the area who drive but I don’t specifically know of any schools or trainers, or how it works (does the instructor come to you? Do you take the pony and cart to the instructor?) Any ideas on how to get started? The pony is very sweet and easy to handle. How much of this can an experienced horse person learn solo and how much requires a trainer? (I train lots of green horses under saddle, and have for many years, but am not knowledgeable about driving)

I always recommend you find someone who knows what they are doing, most are pretty open to teaching people who are really willing to learn. where are you located?

2 Likes

Contact one of those knowledgeable Drivers & ask for help.
My local Driving club has members with many (some with 40+) years experience who help newbies learn to harness safely.
They might not be ADS Rulebook compliant (Headers will hold onto a bridle) but they are safe.

If you can longline that’s a good place to start, then progress to ground driving where you walk behind at the distance a cart would put you.
When you’re ready to hitch to a cart have a helper who can head your pony “in case”.
Have someone who drives go with you to purchase harness & vehicle. They will know to check things you might overlook.