Unlimited access >

Where to Buy a Cart?

Hi All - Potentially dumb question, but I’m new to miniatures so please forgive me.

I finally went to an AMHR show this weekend to check out the scene and try to figure out what type of cart that I need. It seems like I’ll want to show my guy in some of the pleasure classes, and the typical carts in those classes are the two wheeled, basket foot style pleasure carts.

HOWEVER , having never done this before – I can’t afford the $5-6K I see listed for a brand new cart. I’ve tried looking on FB groups for carts but I really don’t know what I’m searching for - “mini pleasure cart” comes up with a bunch of irrelevant results.

Where in the world can someone like me purchase an affordable, used cart to get my feet wet showing? I’m willing to lay out $1-2K for a cart and more if I get serious with it, but I can’t drop $5K from the jump and surely there has to be a market for used carts somewhere. Right? :joy:

Facebook has several groups selling miniature tack including carts & carriages.
I don’t know where you are seeing $5K for a simple road cart < that sounds like what you described from the Pleasure classes you watched.
My Amish-made show cart cost under $1500.
Granted, that was 4yrs ago, before pandemic pricing on materials.
If you are near Indiana, I can refer you to the guy who made my cart.
The cart:

1 Like

Contact Herrons tack, he gets some really nice used breed show carts for minis and ponies.

1 Like

ditto. Where are you? I also live near Amishland. Carts are easy to find here and they have a spring/fall carriage auction - all things driving. Huge weekend affairs. I often see a long stock trailer with faraway plates on it LOADED -inside and out - 4-5 sleighs lined up tied on top!

I bought a late 1800’s Canadian pony runabout for $1150. Completely refurbished and velvet reupholstered wicker seat.

Brand new easy entry mini carts here are $975 .