Unlimited access >

Which registry?

I bought a foal in-utero that’s eligible for a few different registries. I’m very new to warmblood life so other than different naming rules and fees, is there a huge difference if I don’t plan on doing anything other than showing? I’m leaning towards BWP, but it’s also eligible for Holsteiner, Westfalen, and Zangersheide.

What kind of showing do you plan to do? Do you want to do recognized shows that could count towards breed specific awards with a registry? If so, do you plan to show for USDF, USEF, and if so, what kind of shows (Hunter/jumper, dressage, eventing, etc)?

Also, is your horse jumper bred?

Knowing those things will help make a better recommendation.

Hi!

I mostly do local showing right now, my hope is to move up to some bigger shows with an (ideally) more capable horse. I do hunters, the horse is hunter bred. So while I may do some usef/ushja shows it isn’t necessarily a goal of mine to aim for any breed recognition awards or anything.

Ok, I see. Congrats on your purchase by the way. I don’t think there is anything more gratifying than raising young horses. It’s so exciting having a prospect you can grow with as well.

As far as registry specific awards:

BWP: check out details at: https://www.belgianwarmblood.com/awards/

BWP actually has some USHJA awards that you could qualify for as well as USEF:

USEF HOTY Award – Two Categories

1. Awarded to the top BWP/NAD horse in a recognized USEF National Horse of the Year Division.
  2. Awarded to the top BWP horse in a recognized USEF National Horse of the Year Division.

USHJA Zone HOTY Award
Awarded to horses that rank in the top 10 of a USHJA Zone Horse of the Year Division. Open to BWP/NAD and BWP bred horses.

Premier Hunter Award
To be awarded in 2021 – Awarded to horses that qualify for the 2021 USHJA International Hunter Derby Championship. Open to BWP/NAD and BWP bred horses.”

Westfalen: Info here: https://westfalenverband.com/about/awards.html