Why are Mullen Mouths not legal as bradoons?

Does anyone know the reason behind the rule that you can’t use a Mullen mouth as a bradoon?

Hmm…I don’t know why they make such a distinction between snaffles and “bridoon”

Just found the statement
“Bridoons in which the joints of the center link can lock and have the effect of a
mullen-mouth snaffle, are prohibited.”

Now I’m curious.

I’ve always wondered this, too.

1 Like

I’m following this to get an understanding of the rationale, but it seems to me that the horse would essentially have two “Mullen mouths” in its mouth as the curb is essentially a Mullen mouth (albeit a ported one with leverage). Not sure what the action of another fixed bar bit would be with that in proximity.

1 Like

It’s a great question. I don’t know either. Maybe pose the question to USEF and let us know the answer?