Unlimited access >

Why do we vaccinate in spring?

Or maybe you don’t!

We just have had the notice come out for herd health day, at the end of the months. Coggins required and 3 way for everyone, then owners can opt in for Flu, West Nile and Rabies.

Being this is my first year owning a PSSM1 n/P1 horse, thought I would check on a board I belong to, see what their thoughts were…well seems there are those that think all vaccines are bad, not surprised.

There are those who say that vaccinating everyone in the spring is bad, worst time of year to do it, just done for vets convenience. Only out vet is large animal, solo practitioner who is dealing with calving season, so I’m guessing that there are other times of year that would suit her better.

Leads me to wonder, vaccines in spring have always been the thing, and I have never questioned the timing before.

I do Potomac/West Nile/EWT in the spring because they are all much more common in the warmer months (except tetanus obviously, but it’s cheaper to give the combo). I do Rabies when the vet is out to do the Coggins which is in late winter or early spring. I do botulism in the late fall just before we start feeding round bales as that is when they’re most likely to encounter it. (My horses usually only get hay December-March or when trailering). And Flu/Rhino is required to be within 6 months so I typically do it March and September just because that’s how the show year goes for me. My vet recommends that they be done this way so that they are most likely to be effective when they are needed.

3 Likes

Some vaccines, like Tetanus, can be done any time of year. But other vaccines relate to diseases spread by flying insects - which are most active late spring to early fall in much of the country. Also, for much of the country that schedule lines up with show season where risk of transmission increases. Therefore, it makes sense to maximize effectiveness of those vaccines relative to the season the disease spreads.