Unlimited access >

Why is my horses stall always wet?

Hello everyone,

I am a freshman at college and moved my horse out about a month ago because my parents do not have the time to properly care for her while I am away. She is now living basically inside a 16’x7’ (approximately, I haven’t measured it yet) stall. I have a friend at the barn who is turning her out for me while I am in my classes so she isn’t cooped up in there every day, and while I initially thought that would end my “wet stall” problem, it has done nothing.

So, I’ll explain the problem to you.
Every morning and every night when I feed, I clean Faith’s stall. I am always doing my best to keep it dry and neat for her. However, I feel like ever since I’ve moved her in, this stall has been soaking wet. Faith has a tendency to urinate in one area, and poo in the other. While her poo is perfectly easy to clean, the pee is another issue entirely. I cannot possibly see her drinking so much water that it requires her to urinate this much, and so every time I go to clean her stall, no matter how deep I shovel or try to cover it up, it is ALWAYS wet.
It is a sand/dirt floor, but I cannot possibly afford some rubber mats or anything like that. None of the other stalls seem to ever have this sort of problem.
For example, we experienced several four days of rain this past weekend. The stall is half covered, and half uncovered, so that the horse is able to move around. However, that was three days ago, and we have had nothing but sun and warmth here, so most of the stall of nice and dry again. Except for mine. Faith is up to her pasterns in mud/dirt/manure/urine, and because she has stomped it around so much I cannot tell what is what and can’t possibly clean it when the entire stall is this filthy. For the time being, I have moved her to the next box over in the hopes that hers can dry up and I will have something reasonable to work with when cleaning up after her!

Help please!!!