Unlimited access >

Working student opportunities? Advice?

I am a recent college graduate (equine degree) looking to further my dressage education. I have been a full-time working student for 3 years now, currently riding at 3rd level, and looking to move on from my current trainer and take my riding to the next step. Becoming an assistant trainer/trainer is the long term goal, but for now I really need to get started on showing and obtaining scores towards my medals. I do not have a horse of my own so the position I go for must have horses I can ride, and hopefully show.

I am very fortunate that I am at a point in life where I can really go anywhere, the sky’s the limit! I am a very hard-working, responsible, dedicated individual who truly wants to make dressage my life’s work. I’m looking for advice, and/or recommendations if you have them. Thank you in advance!

The conundrum for young horse professionals is, usually you need to invest a certain amount of your own cash in horse and showing to advance your CV to advance your career, but you don’t make enough money to afford this.

I’m going to make a guess and say that a hunter jumper barn might have more riding and showing opportunities than a dressage barn, because the trainer is more involved with the horse, and often the trainer or a WS show the horse in open classes, owner in ammie.

Dressage doesn’t work the same way.

Anyhow I would think your current mentor would be the one to brainstorm about your next step forward in your local or regional situation.

1 Like

Yes, I plan to have a talk with her but in the meantime, trying to get some more ideas.

I am not opposed to spending some money, I know that comes with the advantage of being treated more like a client, however I am more than willing to put in some hard work. Unfortunately, owning my own horse is an immpossibility at this point. Leasing however, could be an option.