Unlimited access >

X-post from H/J: Entering a training program, what should I know or ask?

For the first time in my life, I can afford to really put some money into myself and my horse, and I’m thinking of moving us into a training program. This is all very new to me, so really looking for advice on what I should look for in a program, general watch-outs, or if there’s anything I should ask.

The backstory here is that I have a 5 year old OTTB who is wonderful in so many ways, but is still a baby. My personal goals is to have a happy, confident horse (and me as a rider) and do some low-level eventing (or just jumpers if he winds up hating eventing). While my OTTB is very brave and willing, as an adult amateur, I want to make sure I set him up for success and educate him well, and I know I have some holes in my education and I want to avoid that with my OTTB.

Anyway, I’ve found a program that I really like–board and a customized training program is included, typically 3-4 rides/training sessions including a trainer riding and lessons for myself. The head trainer has worked with a lot of OTTBs and loves them, and believes in taking your time and developing the horse, which I really believe in.

That being said, I’m new to this whole program thing, and want to make sure I ask the right questions before fully committing. Horses are fed 3x/day, get daily turnout (weather permitting), and there is no showing requirement.

I’m paying a visit to the stable soon, but have met the trainer before at an event and really liked them. When I go out, I’ll be viewing the facilities and watching a lesson (or 2!). What should I ask about as I go?

Thank you so much for any advice/tips, I’m really excited at the direction this could take me, my horse, and my riding!

One question is to ask who will actually be riding your horse.