Unlimited access >

Yearly Lease Price / Expectations / Advise PLEASE IN MIDWEST

Hello! I am looking for some insight and advise please! I am a returning amateur, I haven’t ridden competitively in almost 15 years. I have been able to keep riding on and off since then, via catch rides or friends etc. More recently I have been lessoning weekly with a H/J barn, and am hopeful to find something to lease so I am able to ride more frequently. Unfortunately my trainer doesn’t have anything in the barn that would fit the bill so we are looking outside as well, and WOW have things changed in my 15 year hiatus. :slight_smile:

I’m looking for some advise on what to expect to pay for a one year lease. I am a confident rider, but rusty, and not looking to do much over 2’6" with any regularity. Horse would be in a program, with weekly training rides, and would likely not show. Facility is well kept, daily turn out, excellent footing, and educated staff. Horse doesn’t need to be fancy, just safe and quiet, doesn’t need to pass a PP some maintenance is fine as well. Basically I’m looking for the equine version of myself. LOL

Here is where all of the questions come in, I know prices have changed a lot in the last years, but I’m somewhat shocked to hear this may cost me close to 25,000 a year? With a little effort on the looking side what would be a reasonable 1 yr lease price?

Is the fact that I don’t want to show this year part of the problem? I would think less strain on the horse would be a good thing? But does a break in the show record hurt a horses marketability?

What other terms should I expect in a lease these days? Ex, is a buy out option minus the lease price still common practice at the end of the lease? What type of insurance is required for me to carry on said horse? What is trainers commission on this type of situation?

HELP I’m feeling discouraged already…