Unlimited access >

Young Horse Jumping Form Dilemma- lacks form over low stuff

Hi, I’m currently re-training a 6 year old 17hh OTTB sale horse. Let me start by saying my background is in eventing, but I view this horse as being more of a potential hunter/eq prospect since he is spooky outside the ring and he has auto lead changes, and he carries himself on the flat like a hunter. He’s been off the track for 2 years and has a lot of flatwork training, and I started jumping him over low stuff 3 months ago, and once he understood what I was asking him he really took to the jumps and he is now coursing 2’6 and 2’9 singles. He has plenty of scope- here is the problem: when there’s a new jump or a scary obstacle under the jump or a higher jump than he’s used to, he jumps the jump with perfect form and bascule, but he does rush a little. But as soon as he gets acclimated and confident to new obstacles/height so that he’s not rushing at all, he gets lazy with his knees and hind end. Doing gymnastics is helping a little, but his jumping form over the low stuff (under 2’9) just isn’t great. But I don’t want to move him up too fast and scare him especially given he has a tendency to rush. Advice? Suggestions? Thanks!

You can move him up. Low fences encourage sloppy form and many of the bigger names in the business don’t work much over them once past the baby stage. Fact all 4 feet are not even off the ground at the same time until you get around 3’.

Set your fences around 2’9" with some to 3’. Make the width equal to the height though and find some filler for them. Good idea, though a PITA, to change your courses up frequently, at least once a week. Keeps them interested and guessing.

Obviously, don’t over drill but 3’ is pretty normal for the average 6 year old. Most jump twice a week but not all that many fences. And fix the rushing with flatwork-ride the horse the same way around jumps as on the flat, same aids, same expectation of obedience.