Unlimited access >

Zone Finals IEA

Hello! I have my first zone finals for IEA in a month. It is my first year doing IEA so I’ve never experienced a zone finals before.
I didn’t do the best at regionals despite getting mainly 1st places in the regular season. Honestly, I just didn’t ride the best. I was tired and I didn’t eat that day which made me a bit weak and made my mind hazy. I have good eq and I ride new horses usually pretty well, but that day just wasn’t my best ride.

Does anyone have tips on zone finals?

How can I quickly improve before? (Exercises, what a judge first sees, etc)

And lastly…

Any tips on how to prepare the day of?

I’m kind of nervous, because when I’m showing on my own horse I know him pretty well by now so I know exactly what the hard/easy parts are, but for IEA sometimes you have to go with the flow which is very difficult for me because I LOVE plans.

Thank you!

1 Like

Nothing specific about the riding phase, but EAT!!! Food is going to help you with everything else! If you’ve got to keep moving, grab things that can be eaten ‘on the go!’ like hard-boiled eggs, spoonfuls of peanut butter, muffins, fruit, etc, but not things like donuts (okay, maybe 1, in a pinch :wink: if that’s what it takes to GET you eating)

3 Likes

Good point about the food, I usually just eat a quick donut at the snack table when I show but a hard boiled egg seems really good

2 Likes

You did not do well b/c you were tired and did not eat?

Try getting a good night’s sleep and have breakfast/lunch before you ride. Those things are more or less in your control.

In addition, for IEA, do not post even ONE step of trot on the wrong diagonal. Sit an extra step until you (subtly) determine which is the correct diagonal, and then post.

3 Likes

Finally! Someone else said it! Preach!! Lol.

2 Likes

Lol @MHM were you the one who posted that piece of advice on the OP’s other thread about IEA? I agree, personally, it just makes things sharper.