Unlimited access >

Adopting an OTTB!!

I’m a week away from adopting an OTTB!! I’ve been around horses my whole life, but this is my first time as a horse owner. Any pearls of wisdom current/previous OTTB owners want to share? All tips welcomed and appreciated!!

I see you are in NY… who are you adopting from? I love Second Chance - they get a lot of nice horses from FLF.

You’ll learn a lot as you go, unfortunately, an OTTB is like any other horse in that every one is different.

Your advice will be very different depending on if you are getting an OTTB fresh from the track, or getting an OTTB from a reputable adoption.

My pearls of wisdom are give them time off if they need it (especially right after the track) give them as much T/O as you possibly can, and give them a job. I could write a novel on what each OTTB of mine has taught me, but by and large they all benefit from as much T/O as possible, a fair job, a good understanding of horse language & expression, and also an understanding of green horses - take your time, reward often, and have a great ride.

Oh, and work with a trainer who you trust and is familiar with OTTBs :wink:

Thank you Beowulf - wonderful words!! Im adopting him from New Vocations. I’m flying down to Lexington this Saturday to meet him and make sure he’s the right one for me (although I must admit, I’m already in love). He just turned 7 last month and has been off the track since 2012. I do have a trainer who has worked with OTTBs and has bred her own thoroughbreds - she’s fantastic!! (Btw, great pic in your link - what s gorgeous boy you have!!)