Adult Attention Deficit Disorder

My dilemma - :sigh:

I’ve been doing barn work for over two years now and it is time to move on. Sick of the heat, cold, rain, no vacation time, no sick time, no benefits. And honestly, just physically exhausted.

After working in a Laboratory for 20 years prior to stable work, the medical field still interests me, and I’d like to go for a Certification or Degree for a Medical Assistant.

School was always difficult and I found concentrating also difficult, unless it was something that really interested me.

I can read horse articles, or attend a clinic and the information is easy to absorb and it sticks.

Book work and studying not so easy.:no:

Took an on-line quiz (although not scientific) and it said I had moderate A.D.D.

Any other adults out there with the same problem? How do you handle it? Medication?

My problem is doubly troublesome, as I take Paxil for anxiety and my M.D. told me medication for A.D.D. is known to cause anxiety…double whammy!

Sure enough, I did some research and many of the meds contain Amphetamines. I may just ask her if I could try it anyway and see what happens.

Anyone else? Thanks…

To the person who just sent me a PM - I tried writing back, but your in box is full.

I would love to know what you are taking. Thanks.

It’s a great question because meds are not the only answer, and in most cases, should be used only as an adjunct to behavioral therapy.

Find yourself a good therapist who specializes in treatment for anxiety and ADHD. You might find that many of your ADHD symptoms are actually anxiety-based.

You sound just like me. (((hugs)))