Unlimited access >

Am I messing up my green bean?

I have a very lovely green bean. He’s smart, willing, brave, and doesn’t get ruffled when I make mistakes.

Problem is, I make LOTS of mistakes with him at the little jumps (like crossrails) we’re jumping. I don’t do a great job of keeping him straight or balanced, so it’s miss after miss. Plus I’m an amateur with an average eye, so there’s that.

My dear young boy keeps on trucking, but I’m afraid I’ll mess him up this way. Part of me wants to tell my trainer to demote me to poles until I can get my sh*t together and learn to ride.

Thoughts? I don’t want to be that client who bosses the trainer, but I’m really nervous I’ll teach this horse bad things.

Edited to add: he gets training rides, so at least there’s someone teaching him how to do things correctly.

Sounds like you need to have some training rides on more experienced horse to refresh your techniques

7 Likes

To me, that sounds like a great idea. Take some lessons on other horses, and work on your eye on this horse over poles. When you feel like you’ve mastered the straightness and balance and all the flatwork elements, try again.

8 Likes

I feel your pain. One consolation is that missing to crossrails is a handy skill that ammy horses need to get good at. Missing to a jump they can walk over is frustrating but not the end of the world. Or so I tell myself.

At least you know why you’re missing - no good canter, no distance. For sure ride other horses in the meantime if you can. Focus on your flatwork with your young horse (as appropriate) - half halting, pace control, lateral work. As those become confirmed, your jumps will come up much better.

4 Likes

Thank you, I appreciate the support!

You’re so right. I can work on straightness, responsiveness, balance, etc with no jumps whatsoever involved. Once I have a really rideable canter, I think the jumping will suck less.

3 Likes