Unlimited access >

Am I using my hands properly, or is this the see-saw of doom?

I’m new to dressage and just learning how to get connection and suppleness through the reins.

My instructor keeps impressing on me that I always have to work for connection and bend/straightness, you can’t just ask for it and then move on because the horse won’t stay there. Whenever a horse feels tight, I’m supposed to move my wrists “like I’m stirring a pot of soup”, and my instructor often complains that I’m not doing that enough. As a result, whenever I have contact, I’m constantly moving this hand and then that hand, always careful never to stay still long enough to give the horse something to brace against, which sort of makes sense… but here’s where I’m getting tripped up: Isn’t that just see-sawing the bit? I know if I was in the horse’s position, that technique would get very annoying. It certainly doesn’t seem like it would encourage the horse to reach into the contact.

Am I doing this correctly? Is this just the awkward learning stage before refining? Or am I missing something?

Thank you for your input!

Maybe this will help: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eMLUWeJZwwo

If you continue to ride with this “instructor” you are doomed indeed. Find someone who has a clue.

My instructor has been telling me to do the same thing, and I was wondering the same thing! Only with the inside rein though (unless he leans on the outside in which case give and retake). He really feels good in my lessons with her… No idea if it’s correct though. It’s very gentle, but like you said, stirring soup!!

I’m careful not to just do it automatically, only when I can feel him needing suppling or starting to loose attention, but it is pretty much every stride, and I’m trying to keep it moveable inbetween. I wonder if it gets less/more subtle as horse starts to learn this is how he should go? Because obviously as you go up the levels, the riders have very still hands.

[QUOTE=Pipkin;7649077]