Unlimited access >

Anyone buying new horse trailers now?

I’m in the market for a small 2 horse bumper pull, straight load, modest dressing room, and easily pulled with a SUV. Only going short distances, my horse is only 15.3. I’ve been combing the used trailer market for several months and everything is either too big, no dressing room or gone already as soon as I reach out. So I contacted the local Featherlite dealer and I’m reeling a bit from surcharges and delivery timelines and wanted to see what others have experienced around this. They have a Featherlite 9652 already ordered, that I can still customize, but it is not scheduled to be delivered until August 2022 and comes with a 27.5% surcharge. Any new orders placed at this time wouldn’t be delivered until 2023. Is this what others are seeing?

1 Like

I was trailer shopping a few months ago. Timelines for custom trailers were long, and I didn’t want to wait, so I essentially had to call around to see what any dealers had in the lot right then or what they were expecting now. I put a deposit down on anything I was interested in, then went to see it in person, prepared to buy. That’s how I found mine as you are correct - the used trailer market is HOT and everything small is selling fast.

Lead times on new trailer orders quickly jump from like 4mo to 8mo this spring! I’d wanted to downsize my trailer- I can’t new trailer prices will drop after this, so decided to sell my trailer during the peak of spring/sellers market. I knew I could borrow friends trailers during the summer, so listed mine for sale & put an order in for a new one in the same week, now in the waiting game.