Bemer

What are people’s experiences with the BEMER blanket system? It’s increasingly advertised by top riders and our barn has one although I’ve yet to use it. I used a magnetic blanket 10+ years ago and never thought it did much.

I’m doubtful given that I can only find one study on horses that appears statistically significant on it but I can’t access the full article.

This other study doesn’t appear to have a low enough p value to be statistically significant.

Thoughts, anyone? Has it helped your horse significantly?

I am not a scientist so my reading of these could be wrong. I did several stats classes buts it’s been a while!

1 Like

I have a girlfriend in Ocala that does Bemer on dressage horses in Ocala. She is always busy. :wink: so it must be good.

It’s different than a magnet blanket. It’s PEMF- it’s a pulsing sensation.

The horses like it a lot.

The company-provided “scientific” literature on PEMF and how it works is a bunch of junk, but… it does something. A lot of horses (and people) show improvements with it.

One of the ruder reps I have ever met in my life was with BEMER this past fall. I knew I couldn’t afford it, but figured I’d got see if they had any offers or deals. They were running a sale- something like $5k for the horse set and a lot of extra goodies included. I said sorry but that’s out of my budget right now. The rep then started pressuring me by saying if I had to spend $5k on medical bills it would be no problem yet I balk at the idea of spending $5k on something they would prevent medical bills. Um lady, a surprise $5k bill of any sort makes a mess of my finances

13 Likes