Unlimited access >

Best professional quality body clippers?

First of all, I would like to apologize for starting another clipper thread, but I can’t seem to find what I’m looking for.

This is my first year clipping horses other than my own. I have done around 15 clips so far this fall, with three more this week. I really enjoy clipping (as long as the horse isn’t trying to kill me), and think it is time to upgrade to a better body clipper. I would like break into the “professional” market in the future.

I am currently using three sets of clippers
Wahl Arco - for ears, face and sensitive spots
Andis AGC - for head, legs, and awkward spots
Oster Clipmasters - body clipping powerhouse

This set up was more than enough for my own well behaved horses. However, I find that most horses can’t handle the noise and vibration of the clipmasters without sedation. I end up having to use the Andis AGC for majority of the job. Although I love small and quiet, they are not powerful enough to handle multiple full body clips.

I am looking for suggestions for reliable, quality, horse friendly body clippers. I am leaning towards the lister stars or legends, but would like some other opinions before I make my decision. Double k? Laube? Andis progress?

Thank you all for your opinions :slight_smile:

Since you already have a range of clippers, have you looked at the Wahl KM10? They are SUPER quiet and low vibration, but still powerful enough to glide through the hair. I bought them because I have a “special” horse that had never been body clipped but hated clippers. After reading a bunch of reviews, the KM10s were the ones that everyone said were the quietest they’ve ever heard and I was amazed at the low hum they make compared to the hedge trimmer sound some of the others have. It sounds like they would fit the bill for the nervous nellies you come across.