Unlimited access >

Best saddle for equitation rider around $2k?

So I just started riding again after a sad hiatus of a good 10 years. My friend is letting me borrow her 17.5" County Stabilizer and it’s both amazing and super comfy but definitely out of my price range. I am on the taller side at 5’7", with a pretty long leg, average athletic build and this saddle fits me perfectly. I’m looking for something similar but closer to $2k good for thoroughbreds. The leather on the County is definitely super smooth and doesn’t offer a lot of grip so I would like something that offers that grip. My friend suggested Smith and Worthington. I think their saddles are really nice and I like that the flocking can be changed to fit any horse. Any suggestions on Smith and Worthington or other great eq saddles around $2k?? I’ve been researching like crazy! help please :slight_smile:

I would contact your local rep for cwd/antares etc and talk to them about coming out to fit you/your horse. not only will it help you determine what you and your horse need in a saddle but they usually always have used saddles they sell that are within your price range. And if not, there are other online resources you can use to find a saddle that works. Redwood tack is one!

You can find a used Stabilizer in your budget. Their XTR leather would offer you more grip, but so will that SportyHafft spray in the orange can. (-:

I had and loved a Stabilizer. If I could justify the purchase of another saddle right now, I’d be looking for a used one.

A quick search on Ebay revealed 9 County Stabilizers for sale under $2K. Doesn’t seem like it would be too hard to get one if you know the specs of the one you like. Happy hunting!