Unlimited access >

Bit Issue

I have a 20 year old horse and we are doing very low level dressage - she was a jumper, I am an advanced beginner rider. She goes in a simple french link snaffle in a Micklem bridle. I have had her two and a half years. I have weekly lessons to make sure i keep learning and am riding her correctly and she is also ridden by the trainer once a week to help keep her in shape. Recently, she has shown some reign lameness in the trot only and only when she is right at that point where she just needs a little bit more to drop into frame. Once she drops into frame, it stops and if i can keep her there, she’s fine. I got her body work, took her to the vet, etc., and they all say she looks fantastic and are stumped as to why she is doing this. Decided to give her a little break from dressage and do some things i wanted to try, like bareback and bitless, etc. First time i rode her bitless and got up enough nerve to actually trot and try getting her into frame, it was efortless for her and zero lameness. So, I called the dentist out and he said (I don’t know the technical terms, so hopefully this will make sense) that her back molars are basically flush with the gums, so where the bit sits on the bars, there’s nothing behind to keep the bit from going back onto those teeth. He said she basically has no place for the bit to sit anymore. When i asked him what the fix was (i.e., a different bit or if he knew a bit fitter or something), he had no ideas. He would not say that this is the cause of the reign lameness, of course, but said it’s possible. So, first, I have no issue riding her without a bit at home - it’s good for me to learn and she seems happier. We do like to go out on trails and the occasional schooling show off property (she may not require a bit for schooling shows, but if so, that would be an issue). This is a big girl who is a little opinionated and can get a bit hot off property, and if i need a bit to continue in dressage, I need t