Unlimited access >

Blocking draft, snow, etc. under sliding barn door

I need some ideas on good ways to block the draft, snow, rain, etc. that blows in under my north-facing sliding barn door.

There is a BIG gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. No overhang, north-facing.

In the past, I have stacked up straw bales and left them all winter. Works fine, except – we are really trying to reduce hay, straw and dust, etc. in the barn (due to my respiratory issues). We would like to come up with something else and stick to our no-bales-in-the-barn goal.

Thoughts?

Make a “door snake” with old gunny or plastic feed sacks, you will have to stitch them together to make a tube and then stuff them with something, maybe sand?

1 Like

I have no experience with this, but would something like a mudflap work? Maybe a long strip of thick plastic?

1 Like

The barn where I board uses a 4" X 4" block of wood covered in green indoor/outdoor carpeting, to block the wind coming in under the sliding doors at the end of each aisle. Two separate sections take care of the 10’ opening, and they fit snugly from door frame to door frame. They are moved daily when the doors are open for turnouts, but are always in place overnight during the winter.

1 Like

I made an apron for our sliding door using recycled rubber conveyor belting. It is stiff enough to keep the wind/snow out but doesn’t hinder opening/closing the door.

We have a similar problem with a 14’ sliding door on our indoor arena which is also on the north side. I have used 4" jump rails on the ground under the door but we need to be able to drive through that doorway from time to time and the rails tend to freeze down. I put J hooks on the bottom or the door and installed grommets into an old rubber inner tube (large one from a tractor) which I cut into long strips to act as a “floor curtain” for the door. Not a perfect seal but keeps most of the cold wind and snow out.