Unlimited access >

British eventer Caroline March passes voluntarily

Rest easy Caroline. She had written a public post to be published after her passing.

16 Likes

I read that last night and have not been able to stop thinking about her. I think she was very brave and knew herself and what she wanted and what she absolutely didn’t want.

What an incredible letter.

Rest easy Caroline and bless those who were there for you.

25 Likes

I followed her on FB and what she wrote here is truly who she was
Vale Caroline.

7 Likes

I’m really glad to see the nearly universal positive support she’s had from the community, and appreciate the raw honesty in her letter.

24 Likes

Brave choice that I fully support. Euthanasia is a gift we give our beloved animals to prevent time spent unnecessarily suffering. The fact we cannot give this gift to people makes no sense to me. Rest in power and pain free to Caroline.

55 Likes

I am new to her story and while I am sad that she wasn’t able to find a new sense of self and happiness after her accident, I hope she is at peace now.

5 Likes

I’ve been thinking of her letter and the subsequent response since it was posted. I’m glad for her family and close connections that the response has been so supportive. But my thoughts can’t help but consider all those that are considering suicide and seeing such positive support. I think able bodied people that consider suicide feel the same as Caroline, but their issues aren’t visible (spiritual/emotional/psychological). The support seems like it would be encouraging to those people to make the same decision. Makes me feel very guarded about the impact this might have in the horse world where many people might struggle with mental health issues (and substance abuse issues) silently.

21 Likes

I’ve personally always believed that we need to undemonize suicide. Make it less taboo to speak about and discuss, and options like assisted suicide more available.