Broken leg....

Not really a disability…but still pretty bad. :frowning:

I had a bad fall in May that resulted in a nasty concussion (2 months recovery) and a hurt arm. Fast forward to 3 weeks ago…took a simple, easy fall off my horse and ended up breaking my ankle/leg in 4 places.

Ortho surgeon says that my ankle is never going to be 100% again as far as flexibility and strength. We were doing low-level hunters and eventing (2’6" to 3’). I’m really doubting that I want to jump anymore (or will be physically able to).

Anyone done a complete discipline switch after an injury? Coco’s a QH that is just as happy with a western saddle on…but we’ve spent the last 2 years getting her to really go forward. I’m sure she can still jog and lope, but I think it’s going to be an either/or situation.

SO sorry :frowning:

I broke and dislocated my ankle 2 years ago from a fall. I was on crutches for 3 months, and then it took 6 months before I could ride. I am a Hunter/Jumper trainer and I am happy to say that I am back to riding and training (Jumping too 3’3"). My ankle will never be the same, but it actually has more stability than the other ankle because of all the hardware. Please move your ankle as much as possible after your cast is off. It will hurt, but you will be better for it in the long run. (The fall before I broke the ankle, I had a concussion and a broken tailbone, so I feel your pain). It took a while to get my confidence back, and I still will not ride rank horses that I don’t know. Those days are over for me, and that is OK:) Good luck and fast healing!!!

ooohhh… I’m so sorry! Ouch!

Don’t be quite so sure you won’t be able to do what you love. Give yourself enough time to REALLY heal, and then try different stirrups–jointed, wide platform, etc. One of them might be the answer.