Unlimited access >

Ch/AA Jumper Pricing?

Hi all,

I have been putting out feelers for the past four months or so to try and find a horse suitable to move me up into the Adult Jumpers but have been very discouraged by the prices. I’m a young adult so not made of money and thankfully my parents are very supportive and help with regular upkeep and some show fees but I am expected to put up the money for this horse myself. I have a little over 20k in savings that I have been hoarding for just this purpose but this seems to be pennies in comparison for what people are asking.

The latest horse I tried was about 12, not attractive at all, no lead change, but solid to the jumps and they wanted 30k to lease for a year and 60k to buy. This is the cheapest horse my trainer has been able to show me so far and I haven’t found much luck on any of the various horse classified websites either. I’m not looking for the winner just something safe and fun.

Is this really what I can expect to pay? If so, it appears to me I am priced right out of the division which is very discouraging as my riding is finally at the point where I feel comfortable moving up. I am located in the Mid-Atlantic if that helps.

Any insight appreciated thanks!

OTTB and Train your own jumper … Not being sarcastic… just a suggestion … But much depends on what AA division , Lows , Highs??? here in the Mid west you can pick up a solid horses that has a bit of experience and is sound and a TB usually in the $20,000 range

A solid high CH/AA with all the buttons is going to be $40k-$80k range. While theoretically the lead change shouldn’t matter, I had a beautiful, tall, super brave, dead quiet jumper with a good low AA record who didn’t have a change one direction, and I could not sell him.

I agree with the above poster that you should look at TBs - they don’t command the prices that the warmbloods do, and many are quite capable of doing well in the highs.