Unlimited access >

Clippers

Does anyone have any recommendations on clippers? Makes, models, brands, features, good buys? Any to avoid? Thanks for your feedback!

I’ve been clipping professionally for over 5 years. I do not like the Oster Clip Masters (big blue clippers)- they tend to blow the clipped hair everywhere.

I use Lister Stars and will never use anything else. They are light weight, heavy duty, and make it darn near impossible to leave lines. Downside is that the blades are very expensive (~$46), but I just get them sharpened. I’ve also used the Lister Legends (slightly larger/heavier), but prefer the Stars.

For smaller clippers- I use the Oster A6’s.

I too really like the Lister Stars, however before I got those to clip my horses for shows, I used the Andis AG2 clippers (~$150) and don’t have any complaints about those.

Before the Andis, I had a pair of Wahl K9 clippers, which lasted me for 8 years, however towards the end, they began to get hot very quickly.

I’ve never fully clipped a horse. I only do muzzles, chin, lightly on the ears, etc for local shows. I bought a little cordless Oster AMP a year or two ago and I LOVE it for working in the little tight spaces to trim muzzles, eyes, and whatnot. It’s got a lithium battery which I’ve never even had to change yet.

Wahl KM10. The clipper does NOT heat up. The blades will so just switch between 2 sets and you’re good.

1 Like

blades

[QUOTE=gumshoe;8013425]
Wahl KM10. The clipper does NOT heat up. The blades will so just switch between 2 sets and you’re good.[/QUOTE]

Brave new world. Thank you everyone. And the blades? How long do these last if you have a big hairy beast? Do you buy a set? I had no idea the blades were so pricey.

This for DD. She will only be clipping her own horse at first. Terrifying. :eek:

I don’t know how long the blades would last with a very hairy horse. I haven’t had to replace them after 2 (or maybe 3, can’t recall) clips. But the horse was clean.