Unlimited access >

Cushings/laminitis advice

I’ve done a search, but many of the old links have expired so if you all could help out again it would be appreciated - I have no experience with Cushings.

My little sister’s old pony who is in his late twenties is retiring to my farm. He has Cushings and is a chronic laminitic. He’s pretty crippled, but still bright and carrying good body condition. He’s currently on Pergolide with Bute and/or Banamine as needed which of course I’ll continue. He’s currently barefoot so I think we can help him out there.

What else can I do for him though? My vets said that’s it, but my farrier is checking into a special diet that another customer swears by for her Cushings pony - something developed by some vets in CA I think.

This is a very dear old pony who I would like to keep as comfortable and happy as possible for as long as we can so any advice or information you could share would be greatly appreciated.

www.meandercreekstable.com

A lot of what sbt78lw mentioned can be directly linked to a hormonal imbalance (long hair coat, excessive sweating, cold intolerance, laminitis); the rest to a weakened immune system (ulcerations and abscesses)… That’s why it’s so crucial to do everything you can to support the animal’s system…

My pony used to have problems with allergies too, which threw him into respiratory distress… When one of the vets did a sonogram he discovered my pony had fluid around his lungs–treatment with Lasix (and later, Naquasone bolus) and Azium helped him greatly and eventually the pony was placed on Thyrol-L… It was about five years before we finally figured out he had Cushing’s… He only lived a couple years after that…

Muscle wasting is also a big problem with Cushing’s; adding chromium piccolinate to the pony’s diet can help with transference of sugar across the cell membrane, but you’ll have to go to the Equine Cushing’s board to get a dosage on that…