Unlimited access >

Does horse riding have to be dangerous?

Hi, I’m a newbie, I never rode a horse before. I got interested in riding not so long ago. I’m looking forward to start English-style riding in the summer.

I understand that horseback riding is a very dangerous sport. However, is it so dangerous in every form? I read/saw that most severe injuries occur when trying to jump over obstacles, or during races.

I’m not interested in any of those activities, I just want to master the different gaits, and do field riding (or what it’s called, going into the nature with the horse), doing it safely, by walking and trotting, perhaps with occasional caters or gallops if the terrain is safe. No fancy jumping, maybe jumping over a log in the woods…

Now, I understand that you can never rule out injuries, as after all it’s an animal you’re riding. But by not going to the “extreme” side of the sport, paying attention to avoid kicks, and wearing protective gear (helmet and back protector), can the probability of suffering severe injuries be minimised? By severe I mean which causes irreparable damage, or an injury that lasts more than let’s say a month. Minor injuries are okay I guess, I’m willing to take smaller risks, I just don’t want to be playing with my life.

If taking these measures into account, can it be said that riding is not any more dangerous than other, non-extreme sports? If not, how bad is it?

Any comment is appreciated :slight_smile: Please forgive any technical/conceptual mistakes, I’m new to this sport.

No, the risk is not confined to small injuries if you don’t jump or race. Accidents happen and they can be severe even just handling a horse.

We we do what we can to be as safe as possible but even then, things happen. At the same time, you can be killed in a car or a plane could crash into your house or you could get fatal botulism eating a salad. Life is not safe.