Driving Cones/Patterns

Why are they shaped like funny leaning triangles?

We have a big outdoor at our disposal now and I set up a bunch of regular cones for the first time to maneuver around. We both had an absolute blast going around at a forward trot.

Any freebie resources out there for cone patterns or other “things to do” type activities?

Coachman’s Delight has some videos; driving Facebook groups are also a resource. I’ve googled “combined driving cones course” for ideas.

1 Like

This is one I do a lot (because I am often low on creative energy):

2 Likes

I’m no CDE Pro, but my 2¢ says the angle outward gives Drivers a better chance to pass through without knocking the ball off.
Cones distances are set according to wheelbase measure & don’t account for your hubs.
You can modify your standard cones by cutting off the tops just enough to balance a tennis ball (or other lightweight toy ball around the same size - from Dollar Tree or?)

Google can show you some simple courses to set & play with.
Cones courses usually have sets of cones set as “oxers” < 2 pair & “slalom” < a line to weave through.

1 Like

They are angled for precise measurement and so the hub of the wheel can pass through the cone angle without hitting the ball. If the ball comes down, it better be because your wheel rubber hit it, not your hub!

Also, regular cones are deceptive, your eye should be looking at the body of the cone, but when you have that big flat plate on the ground, it makes the width look considerably wider than it does with driving cones. That’s no bueno for competition or practice. In competition we don’t have much room (at advanced they are set at 160cm down to 155cm, carriages must be no less than 138cm) and we have to go very fast, so the cone needs to be visually correct. Ponies go the fastest at 260 meters per minute, which means most need to gallop some/all of the course and making time is not common with an international course designer.