Unlimited access >

E-Scribing

Had the opportunity to do my first scribing gig with e-scribing. Would love others feedback on their experiences. Both positive and negative. I will say my first experience as an e-scribe (and I’ve been scribing for more than 20 yrs) was not the most pleasant for various reasons.

TIA

1 Like

Does E-scribing mean you are not actually at the show and you are getting the comments from the vet via some form of communication?

E-scribing is, instead of writing the judges comments and scores on paper tests at the show, the judges comments and scores are recorded electronically on the computer at the show (in the judging booth).

1 Like

So what does the scribe do? So curious as I’ve only ever scribed in person the old fashioned way.

1 Like

Basically the same as with paper tests only you are typing the judges comments on the computer along with the score instead of writing the comments and the score on paper. In theory it makes results faster for the competitor to get their scores (takes out the need for runners and scoring in the show office as the computer computes the score automatically) unless there are glitches in the system (and with computers and wireless communication there are always glitches).

The system is set up for the computer version to look like the paper tests only the comments box is before the score box as most judges today I guess are told to give comments, then score (I’ve had judges do scores, then comments in my years of scribing)

My experience has been that you are sitting in the booth just like the old days when the scribe wrote on a test paper (with the caveat that last year for the handful of shows that I scribed at - I sat in a separate booth and we used radios/phones for communication) but rather than writing on a test sheet, you are typing the comments on a PDF-like document that can be viewed either electronically by the competitor or a printed copy from the show office.