Unlimited access >

FastCat Newbie

Calling all experienced FastCat people!

I am planning to try FastCat this Spring with my whippet. The first events in my area begin in May.
I read on other threads here that you need two handlers - one to release and one to catch.
Because I am new to the sport, I don’t have any connections yet and my husband often works weekends.
Is it recommended to reach out to the club in advance to see if I can line up a volunteer to release for me?

Picture of my sweet girl for Tax

11 Likes

Most clubs will have volunteers to help with releasing/catching if needed, but is is always a good idea to double check with host club.
Many times the help may be older or less athletic/strong people. So keep that in mind.
If your dog has any quirks that may make it difficult for released, be aware they may not be able to help.

Do you have a friend that could go with you? I did my first Sprinter (in Canada they call them Sprinters, not FastCat, but its the same thing) and I brought a friend to release my girl. It was my dogs and my first time doing this so it was great to go a tad early to get the idea.

Just in case your girl is a bit nervous of strangers or being left alone (as they line up early and you have to go down to the end of the track to “catch” them, so you are out of sight for a bit), if you have someone who knows her, it might make her feel a little more comfortable? And then you don’t have to rely on someone at the event. Just a thought!

But the Sprinter I went to had lots of volunteers and I’m sure anyone would have helped if I ever needed it. I even asked some random person in the crowd to use my phone to video her runs. I could have emailed the event centre ahead of time as well so they could manage and arrange for a helper :slight_smile: