Unlimited access >

Forged health certificate and PPE

This did not happen to me, so I might not have all the details straight, but someone I know purchased a horse off of Craig’s list. The sellers provided a health certificate and PPE results. When the horse showed up lame, they discovered the documents had been forged – the vet had never seen the horse; the sellers had taken paperwork from the clinic and altered it.

What recourse does the buyer have in this situation? They are out of pocket for the horse, lawyers fees and veterinary bills for an unsound horse.

I am not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV but I knew someone in a similar situation and the judge said “buyer beware”.
I was naive when I bought my first horse whose owner told me that the seller arranges the PPE. Lucky for me the horse was suitable to my needs and there were no hidden problems.

8 Likes

Consult a lawyer. Lots of things about horses are buyer beware, but this sounds like fraud. If we’re talking normal Craigslist prices, check out the limits on your state’s small claims court.

11 Likes

May not help the buyer but I would think the Vet Clinic would/should go after this person - Forgery is a crime in all 50 states. Curious if they have legal bills already, what have they been told?
Actually I ended up in a similar but much more complicated situation about 18 months ago. Mine was an import so there were international issues along with a bunch of lies. The equine lawyer I consulted with said the best way to approach would be “breach of contract” because we did have a document. But the money I would maybe have recouped would have been mostly eaten up by the legal expenses, so I caved. In my case the horse had to be euthanized.

8 Likes