Unlimited access >

Friday fun - my "retro" hunt seat look

I recently took my young horse to a breed show to get him some experience in the show ring. My background is saddleseat but this horse is definitely not a ss mover, so I tried to go with a retro hunt seat look - man’s tie, non-skin-tight breeches, flat tack, big braids, etc. I want to get a better fitted saddle pad, but overall I like the look. Best of all - we had fun and the horse had a good experience.

44 Likes

Lovely! Both of you !

3 Likes

Thank you!

2 Likes

I love the wide cavesson and the rosettes.

2 Likes

I especially like the brown hunt cap.

5 Likes

Thanks! I think the wide, flat bridle looks good on his big Standardbred head.

5 Likes

Thanks! It was a good find on Ebay. :wink:

1 Like

I love ebay!! Unfortunately my beautiful brown hunt cap hangs on my wall because it is pre-harness and no longer allowed but damn I looked good in that thing back in the day :rofl:

6 Likes

Perfect. My first reaction to your lovely photo is What an old timey head. And those ears!

3 Likes

LOL! He’s mostly Standardbred crossed with a bit of Dutch Harness (hence the STB “jug head”), and I think he could tune in Tokyo with those ears! :laughing: :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

12 Likes

There is an elite Oldenburg mare at my barn whose head is identical, down to the star.

3 Likes

Best of all y’all had fun and your horse had a good experience. You look great! I am not a chasing the latest trend person. As someone that has judged local shows I have often thought that exhibitors should have spent more money on lessons/training and less on attire.

7 Likes

I love this look! I have a friend in North Wales who dresses like this for her shows and I think it should be more prevalent here.

4 Likes

Love the look and the horse!

3 Likes