Unlimited access >

Good 8' weighted split reins

So I’m new to western. After 50 years of riding sporthorses and saddlebreds, I’m loving riding western. So where does one find really good quality split reins? I’m looking for 8’, weighted reins. I’d love some direction.

I have several pairs I bought from Dennis Moreland Tack in Texas. I just called them and ordered on the phone. They do have a FB page. The quality is excellent.

1 Like

Definitely Dennis Moreland. They won’t be cheap but they will be excellent quality and last forever.

1 Like

Here to third the vote for Dennis Moreland! Excellent quality, fair price!

1 Like

Well, heck, now I have to go look up those reins!

Edit: Is he still in business? The website comes up saying he’s retired.

The other business Dennis Moreland started, and had to walk away from due to a divorce, was Cowboy Tack. Not sure of the status of that business, but they would have reins that would be very, very similar if not exactly like what Dennis produces or produced.

I have Cowperson Tack reins and Dutton reins. I prefer the Duttons, but the CTs may be a bit thicker.

I have Weaver Working Cowboy weighted split reins. I found mine in a local farm store, but here’s a link for online: https://www.ridingwarehouse.com/Weaver_Extra_Heavy_Working_Waterloop_Tie_Split_Reins_8/descpage-WTEH.html?from=gshop&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIsO7yk_Xv_QIVOy2tBh0iigzeEAQYBCABEgL-hPD_BwE

I have a pair of these - only found them once at a local co-op store. LOVE them.

Thanks for the link!

Unfortunately Dennis Moreland is out of business as far as I know. I bought a pair of doubled and stitched reins from them last year, loved them, went to buy another pair, and couldn’t because they closed up shop in the two weeks in between.