Unlimited access >

Hip replacement surgery & getting back on

So, getting a new hip tomorrow and another in 4 weeks. What was an average timeline for getting back in the saddle? Thankfully I have a safe schoolmaster when it’s time to return. Hearing different recovery plans from individuals but none from true horse people. Any insight would be appreciated.

Best time to start riding again is when your doctor/physical therapist says it is. But from my own experience with a hip replacement --one month to six weeks. I could mount without help after one month, but was still using crutches to get around on the ground. I could ride comfortably and safely at six weeks.

One of the whippers in at the hunt club was back in the saddle at two weeks (14 days). But she’s a doctor so I guess she gave herself permission.

The problem as my DR explained it to my pea brain isn’t that you CAN’T its that if you injure the hip/hip socket/thigh implant, you may well be in a wheelchair the rest of your life. The pelvis can only take so much repairing before there isn’t enough bone left to repair. So should you fall and break the new hip socket, or the thigh implant, or your thigh bone, how exactly will they repair that? After six weeks or so, I was told your new hip is stronger than a “real” one --so good go --but until then, play it safe. All this is from what I recall from my DR --and that was about 6 years ago, things may be different now.

7 Likes

Thanks so much for the great info!!!

I had a right hip replacement using the Superpath approach. No muscles cut so minimal restrictions. I was back on my horse at 4 1/2 weeks. I always use a mounting block and I mounted from the right side (as I had pre-op due to the pain from lifting the right leg). I do a couple weeks of all walk then went back to work (lower level dressage).

Susan

2 Likes

I’m having the anterior approach, unfortunately not the Superpath. Guess mine might take awhile longer to recover from.

Don’t get discouraged!