How do YOU afford horses?

I think this is a topic everyone has to think about. I’m interested in how everyone affords horses, whether you just have them for fun or if you are a serious competitor. Do you work long hours? Unique jobs? Would love to see how we all make it through this sport!

Serious competitor (although my discipline is very inexpensive compared to most others) with 2 horses actively competing, 1 horse hopefully rehabbing back into it and 1 horse fully retired. I both work long hours and have kind of a unique job ( I work at a wholesale tree nursery, own a nursery brokerage and am the GM for 3 garden centers). I also am a DIYer when it comes to a lot of horse stuff- self care board, etc

1 horse retired, 1 rehabbing, in the process of purchasing #3. Serious dressage competitor. I’m a lawyer and work long hours to pay for them. DH is in finance. We need to live in a very high CoL area to have the jobs we do, which earn the money to afford the horses, which are even more stupidly expensive in said high CoL area. shrug

I have a job that pays well and I keep one horse in a low cost self board barn despite being in a high cost of living area. My big splurge is to keep a truck as second vehicle and a trailer. Keeping my basic expenses low means I can take as many lessons and clinics as I want and compete a bit if I want to.

I don’t think I could afford to be a serious competitor at rated shows at the level of support I would need, which would mean an expensive made horse and a training barn. However i very much enjoy doing a variety of things with my horse, and being very hands-on and DIY.

1 Like

There have been many, many discussions of this question, including at least one quite recently. Look though Off Course, Hunter/Jumper, and Off Topic and you will find them.

4 Likes

I worked hard for just under 50 years and was prudent with my money. Now I can spend some of my children’s inheritance on fun stuff for me!!! :wink:

G.

10 Likes