How do you pronounce it?

It looks like it’s been a while since we’ve had one of these threads! I’m an adult beginner and I often wonder how to pronounce certain horsey words.

So to start…

Breeches: is it like beaches but with an R? Breeks? Britches?
Cavesson: ka-veh-sun?
Mattes: mat-ess?
Schleese: Sh-Lease?

Add your own if you are curious how others pronounce certain words!

3 Likes

We were taught to say”britches” in the 1950’s. Is it correct? I don’t know, but I still use it. Habit is strong.

3 Likes

britches or breeches is correct. Breeks was not popular in my area but is a thing.

Cavesson - correct.

In my area MATeez

shLAYzuh

2 Likes

Used to say “britches” but switched to “breaches” because that seems to be the norm now.

Mattes pad is “mats pad.” No idea if that’s correct.

2 Likes

Here’s a very dumb one: how do you guys say “equine?”

I’ve heard ee-quine, eh-quin, and eh-quine (all from equestrians I respect, no less!)

I usually say ee-quine, but sometimes eh-quine (they rhyme with wine).
I would never say eh-quin (rhymes with swim) and would think it strange if i heard it.

5 Likes

Same! I heard it from the seasoned head coach of my university’s equestrian team. I was a young lowly barn worker at the time, so it turned my head (but I assumed maybe I wasn’t cultured enough to know the proper pronunciation, ha!)

1 Like

Regional accents in the English speaking world vary a lot in how they produce vowel sounds. British English has vowel sounds that don’t really exist in my Canadian English. Also words borrowed from other languages can get Anglicized out of recognition (especially French and Latin words borrowed centuries ago). And the perceived meanings can alter.

Like longe line, which is just French for long line. But when we pronounce it lunge line, or make a verb “to longe” pronounced “to lunge,” it gives a very different picture in our mind! Especially as longeing in reality is often trying to control a horse that wants to lunge!

6 Likes