Unlimited access >

How much should I charge to babysit a dog with separation anxiety?

Hi all,

I’ve been helping this young couple for a few months watching their dog for them for short periods of time while they go out to dinner or drinks at night. They live in an apartment building and their neighbors get really mad if they hear the dog barking at all, and it’s a 1.5 year old English Springer Spaniel with a lot of separation anxiety.

They had been paying me $25/hour for visits like that, and I would just go over to their apartment and hang with the dog until they get home. She can be pretty high maintenance, if she’s not getting enough attention she’ll look for forbidden items to steal to provoke you into playing with her, but usually she’d settle down with me after the first hour or so.

So this past weekend I agreed to take her to my house for the whole weekend… I wasn’t sure how much to charge bc obviously $25/hour would be outrageous and I already felt somewhat guilty wondering if I was overcharging them even for that, so I asked for $100/night for 3 nights.

Well after spending the weekend with her I’m wondering if I actually need to ask them for more… this dog is absolutely insane!!! I unfortunately had already agreed to take her for another weekend in a month or so, so I won’t screw them over by backing out of that, but maybe a little pay raise would make it feel more worth it to me…